Spain Student Blogs: Accessibility & Autism, “Understand your city with pictograms”

My name is Maggie Verkuilen and I am a senior at Kansas State University studying Kinesiology with minors in Spanish and Psychology; I will graduate this December, 2023, and I was able to study in Spain this summer to complete my Spanish minor before graduation. I want to be an occupational therapist who specializes in working with special needs individuals. I regularly work with individuals with autism, so I was very curious about how treatment towards and support for special needs individuals in Spain compared to the US.

In the US, it seems that individuals with autism are seen primarily for their differences and have to make do in a world working against them. Depending on the severity of an individual’s diagnosis, they may stand out, or be stared at simply for walking around.  The first significant difference I noticed was when our group … (Continued on the Spanish Blog)

READ MORE ON THE K-STATE SPANISH BLOG HERE

Leave a comment